Are you the admin of a Facebook group that's no longer in active use? If you want the page to stay the way it is and don't want to delete it entirely, the other option you have is to archive it.
When you archive a Facebook group, new members can't be added, and current members can't make new posts or comment on old ones: They can only view what's already there. If you're in a group where the posting now is no longer relevant to the original purpose, archiving the Facebook group is a good option. As the admin, you can also un-archive the Facebook group at any time.
Here's how to archive a Facebook group on your Mac or PC.
Check out the products mentioned in this article:
MacBook Pro (From $1,299.99 at Best Buy)
Lenovo IdeaPad (From $299.99 at Best Buy)
How to archive a Facebook group
1. Log into your Facebook account and go to the Facebook group you want to archive.
2. On the top toolbar for the group, underneath the cover photo, click the button that says "...More."
3. Select "Archive Group" from the dropdown menu.
4. Click "Confirm" to confirm the action.
Related coverage from How To Do Everything: Tech:
-
How to permanently delete your Facebook Dating profile, or 'take a break' from it
-
How to delete a Facebook group on desktop or mobile
-
How to add your location to a Facebook post using the check-in feature
-
How to block a page on Facebook using your computer or mobile device
-
How to edit a post on Facebook and view its edit history
Insider Inc. receives a commission when you buy through our links.