Tech Reference

How to unsync Google Chrome from your devices and clear your browsing data

Chromebook google
You can unsync Google Chrome from your devices so your data, like browsing history, will no longer be accessible on that device. AP Photo/Jeff Chiu
Read in app

The sync feature on Google Chrome allows you to access all of your browsing history, payment information, bookmarks, and passwords across all of your devices connected to your Google account. 

To unsync your devices, you first have to open the Google Chrome browser on your PC or Mac computer.

Here's how to complete the process.

Check out the products mentioned in this article:

Lenovo IdeaPad 130 (From $299.99 at Best Buy)

MacBook Pro (From $1,299.99 at Best Buy)

How to unsync Google Chrome

1. Launch Google Chrome on your PC or Mac computer. 

2. Tap your profile icon in the top-right corner of your screen.

3. Click "Sync is on."

How to unsync Google Chrome
Select "Sync is on" from the top of the dropdown menu.  Isabella Paoletto/Business Insider

4. Click the blue "Turn off" button on the next page.

How to unsync Google Chrome
Click "Turn off."  Isabella Paoletto/Business Insider

Once you've selected "Turn off" you will be signed out of your Google accounts and your browsing history, password information, and bookmarks will no longer be shared with your other devices.

 

Related coverage from How To Do Everything: Tech:

Insider Inc. receives a commission when you buy through our links.

Read next

Meira Gebel is a freelance reporter based in Portland, Oregon. She writes about business, culture, and technology for Insider. Her work has been featured in Digital Trends, Willamette Week, USA Today, and more. She is a graduate of Columbia Journalism School and San Francisco State University.  Feel free to reach out to her on Twitter, where she can be found most of the time, @MeiraGebel.