Tech Reference

How to reset a Google Chrome browser to remove faulty extensions and restore your original settings

Google Chrome 4
To reset Google Chrome, you'll have to go into your browser's settings. Shutterstock/Evan Lorne
Read in app

If Google Chrome isn't behaving properly, or you've installed an annoying add-on you don't want (like a third-party toolbar, for example), an easy solution may be to reset the browser to its original settings. 

You can also encounter a situation like this if you install a problematic browser extension, or if you accidentally configure your settings in a way that makes your browser behave strangely. 

The good news is that if you reset Chrome, you won't lose any of your search history, saved bookmarks, or passwords. Here are the things that will change after the reset:

  • The default search engine changes back to Google.
  • All extensions will be disabled. 
  • Your tabs will be closed, and your homepage will become the New Tab page.
  • Pinned tabs are closed. 
  • Preferences and settings are reset to their defaults. 
  • Cookies are deleted, so you'll be logged out of all websites. 

Read more: How to clear the cache on a Google Chrome browser to make it run more efficiently

How to reset a Google Chrome browser

1. Start Chrome. 

2. Click the three horizontal dots at the top-right of the window (often called the hamburger menu).

3. In the menu that appears, click "Settings."

reset 1
Start the process to reset Chrome by opening the Settings menu.  Dave Johnson/Business Insider

4. On the new page that opens, on the left side of the screen, click "Advanced."

5. Under the Advanced options, click "Reset and clean up." (On certain kinds of computers, like Chromebook and Mac, this may appear as "Reset settings.")

reset 2
You can find the option to restore your Chrome settings in the Advanced section of the Settings menu.  Dave Johnson/Business Insider

6. On the right side of the screen, click "Restore settings to their original defaults."

7. In the pop-up, click "Reset settings" to confirm this is what you really want to do. You'll also be given the option to send your current setting configuration to Google for them to look at — this has no impact on how your browser resets.

Related coverage from How To Do Everything: Tech:

Read next

Dave Johnson is a technology journalist who writes about consumer tech and how the industry is transforming the speculative world of science fiction into modern-day real life. Dave grew up in New Jersey before entering the Air Force to operate satellites, teach space operations, and do space launch planning. He then spent eight years as a content lead on the Windows team at Microsoft. As a photographer, Dave has photographed wolves in their natural environment; he's also a scuba instructor and co-host of several podcasts. Dave is the author of more than two dozen books and has contributed to many sites and publications including CNET, Forbes, PC World, How To Geek, and Insider.