Tech Reference

How to reset your Google Pixel to its factory settings, and then restore your data if needed

Google Pixel 3a XL
You can factory reset your Google Pixel in a few steps and erase all your data. Hollis Johnson/Business Insider
Read in app

Whether you've run into technical glitches on your phone, or you've sold it and want to make sure the new owner can't access your data, a factory reset is a useful trick to know. 

Here's what you should know about factory resetting a Google Pixel, and what you should do before and after to preserve your data.

Check out the products mentioned in this article:

Google Pixel 3 (From $799.99 at Best Buy)

How to factory reset a Google Pixel phone

Before you can factory reset, it's a good idea to backup your data, and take note of your Google account username and password (so you can access that saved data, whether you plan on using that phone again or getting a new one). For info on how to backup your Google Pixel, check out our article, "How to set up automatic backups for your Google Pixel, and save an unlimited amount of photos and videos."

You should also put your phone on its charger — as resetting can take up to an hour, and you don't want to lose power halfway through.

When you're ready, here's how to reset your Pixel:

1. Swipe down from the top of the screen and tap the gear icon to get into your Settings app.

1 BACKUP GOOGLE PIXEL
Open Settings by tapping the gear icon.  Devon Delfino/Business Insider

2. Select "System" and then "Reset options."

2 FACTORY RESET GOOGLE PIXEL
Navigate to the Reset options menu.  Devon Delfino/Business Insider

3. Choose "Erase all data (factory reset)" and then "Reset Phone" (you may have to enter your phone's PIN, password or pattern to confirm this action).

3 FACTORY RESET GOOGLE PIXEL
Tap "Erase all data" and confirm to start the factory reset.  Devon Delfino/Business Insider

4. Tap "Erase everything" to get your Pixel back to factory settings.

How to restore a Google Pixel after a factory reset

After the reset process is complete, you'll need to restart your phone and restore the backed up data using your Google account login information.

To do that, you'll need to have a Wi-Fi connection, and follow the on-screen restart instructions. When you get to the "Copy apps and data" section, select "Next" and then "Can't use old phone." 

Then, under "Copy another way," tap "Ok" and then "A backup from the Cloud." You'll then be able to sign back into your Google account and access that backed up data by following the remaining instructions.

Related coverage from How To Do Everything: Tech:

Insider Inc. receives a commission when you buy through our links.

Read next

Devon Delfino is a Brooklyn-based freelance journalist specializing in personal finance, culture, politics, and identity. Her work has been featured in publications such as The Los Angeles Times, Teen Vogue, Business Insider, and CNBC. Follow her on Twitter at @devondelfino.