Tech Reference

How to delete photos from an iPad, with an easy method for deleting all of your photos at once

ipad mini
You should occasionally delete photos you don't want anymore to save space. Danny Moloshok/Invision for JAKKS/AP Images
Read in app

These days, rather than waiting for the perfect shot before hitting the shutter button, most people snap a dozen pictures a second and hope at least one of the photos they capture comes out OK. There are two problems with storing hundreds or even thousands of photos or video clips on your iPad, though.

First, it's hard to comb through so many files in search of pictures or videos you actually want. Second, all those image files add up, taking lots of space that could otherwise be used for apps.

How to delete images or videos from an iPad

The easiest way to delete a picture or video clip on an iPad is to bring up the picture itself, then tap the trash can icon. A window will pop up with the words "Delete Photo" in red. Tap that, and the photo (or video) will be deleted.

And if you change your mind at the last minute, just tap anywhere but on the words "Delete Photo."

IMG_3700
Tap "Delete Photo."  Steven John/Business Insider

You can also go to an album or to All Photos to remove one photo or video or to delete or multiple image files at the same time. Hit the word "Select" at the top of the screen, then tap the one, two, ten, or more files you want to remove.

Next, hit the trash can icon and then hit the red words.

How to delete all of your photos and videos from an iPad at once

If you want to delete a huge batch of photos at once, you can tap select, then gently swipe your finger across a swath of files. Try sliding across a row and then swiping up if you want to take out an entire album or even all your image files from All Photos.

One last note: most iPads have a Recently Deleted stash under "Other Albums." Make sure to delete images from there if you're sure you want them gone forever, or go there within 30 days if you want your deleted file back.

IMG_3703
All your deleted photos and videos will remain in the "Recently Deleted" folder for 30 days.  Steven John/Business Insider

Related coverage from How To Do Everything: Tech:

Read next

Steven John has been a freelance writer for more than a dozen years and has been a regular contributor to Business Insider since 2017. His work includes a focus on the tech world, covering companies including Apple, Microsoft, Meta, Google, and others. He also reviews restaurants, shares how-to cooking articles, and writes general interest pieces.Steven also writes for publications including Architectural Digest, The Daily Beast, Forbes, and more. In the past, he also wrote for New York Magazine, Mashed, U.S. News & World Report and other outlets. He runs his own outdoor lifestyle site, Dad Gear Review, and co-hosts the Fact Trekkers podcast with his son. He has had two novels published, Three A.M. and Outrider. He graduated from Emerson College with a degree in communications focused on filmmaking.He is an avid outdoorsman and can be frequently found in a kayak or on a mountain trail, often with his family along for the adventure.Expertise:Tech industryTech hardwareOutdoorsCookingRestaurantsDIYPopular articles:Microsoft: A history of the software giant co-founded by Bill Gates, its products and services, jobs, layoffs, and moreYouTube is a major entertainment force. Here's the platform's history, plus how to create a channel and upload videos.Inside the life and career of Bill Gates, the Microsoft co-founder, billionaire, and philanthropistTim Cook net worth: How the Apple leader earns and spends his moneyBecoming an Amazon seller is a simple process. Here's what's involved, plus how you make money and get paid.