Tech Reference

How to delete your Lyft account on the mobile app or website

FILE - In this Jan. 31, 2018, file photo, a Lyft logo is installed on a Lyft driver's car in Pittsburgh. Lyft’s stock fell 10 percent in trading Monday, April 1, 2019, just one day after the company went public. (AP Photo/Gene J. Puskar, File)
You can delete your Lyft account if you no longer want to book rides. Associated Press
Read in app

When you delete your Lyft account, it is actually only deactivated. This means that the company may keep some of your information, as per the company's privacy policy

While not an ideal situation for those who want to take all of their data with them when they go, it can be helpful if you choose to reactivate your account later on.

The process of deleting your Lyft account is simple and can be done with just a few taps on your iPhone or Android , and you can also accomplish it just as quickly using the web browser version of Lyft, provided you're already logged into your account.

Here's what you need to know to get it done:

Check out the products mentioned in this article:

iPhone Xs (From $999.99 at Best Buy)

Google Pixel 3 (From $799.99 at Best Buy)

How to delete your Lyft account on the mobile app

You can delete your Lyft account with the mobile app on your iPhone or Android. Here's how:

1. Open the app and sign into your account, if necessary.

2. Tap the three bars and select "Help."

1 HOW TO DELETE LYFT ACCOUNT
Tap Help in the menu.  Devon Delfino/Business Insider

3. Scroll to the bottom and, under "Get help," tap "Profile and account settings."

2 HOW TO DELETE LYFT ACCOUNT
Select Profile and account settings.  Devon Delfino/Business Insider

4. Tap "Delete My Account."

3 HOW TO DELETE LYFT ACCOUNT
Choose Delete my account and it will be deactivated.  Devon Delfino/Business Insider

You'll then get a confirmation message saying that Lyft will delete your account.

How to delete your Lyft account on Lyft's website

If you prefer, you could also accomplish this task via a web browser. Assuming you're already signed in through that browser, here are the steps you'd need to take:

1. Go to this support page

2. Select "I'm a passenger or driver."

3. Click "Profile and Account Settings."

4. Select "Delete My Account."

Related coverage from How To Do Everything: Tech:

Insider Inc. receives a commission when you buy through our links.

Read next

Devon Delfino is a Brooklyn-based freelance journalist specializing in personal finance, culture, politics, and identity. Her work has been featured in publications such as The Los Angeles Times, Teen Vogue, Business Insider, and CNBC. Follow her on Twitter at @devondelfino.