Tech Reference

How to delete old Time Machine backups on a Mac computer in 2 ways, to free up storage space

FILE PHOTO: Apple company logos are reflected on the glass window outside an Apple store in Shanghai, China, Jan. 3, 2019. REUTERS/Aly Song/File Photo
You can delete old Time Machine backups using an external hard drive with your Mac to free up space. Aly Song/REUTERS
Read in app

It's always a good idea to have backups. And when it comes to your computer, it's also usually a necessity if you want to make sure that your data isn't lost in the event of a system failure. 

That said, if you have multiple copies of your data, from different points in time, it may be time to get rid of those extra copies to make room for newer ones.

Here's how to get it done on a Mac computer using your external hard drive:

Check out the products mentioned in this article:

MacBook Pro (From $1,299.99 at Best Buy)

How to delete backups on a Mac using Finder

1. Open the Finder from your Dock or top menu bar.

2. Connect your external hard drive and then wait for it to appear in the Devices section, located in the left sidebar.

3. Go to "Backups.backupdb" within the drive, then go into the subfolder labeled with your Mac's name.

1 HOW TO DELETE BACKUPS MAC
Make sure to go into the subfolder with your Mac's name to delete unnecessary Time Machine backups.  Devon Delfino/Business Insider

4. A list of subfolders organized by date will appear. Delete the folder associated with the Time Machine backup that you want to get rid of by right-clicking and selecting "Move to Trash."

2 HOW TO DELETE BACKUPS MAC
Delete a Time Machine backup on your Mac by simply right-clicking the subfolder.  Devon Delfino/Business Insider

5. Empty your trash by right-clicking the trash icon in your Dock and then selecting "Empty Trash."

How to delete backups on a Mac using Time Machine

1. Connect your external hard drive to your computer.

2. Click the Time Machine icon in the top menu bar — it looks like a clock with an arrow going around the outside — or search for it using Spotlight, the magnifying glass at the top right corner of your screen.

3. Find the backup you want to delete, then click the gear icon and select "Delete Backup."

4. Agree to the confirmation question and commands, and then enter your password to confirm your choice.

 

Related coverage from How To Do Everything: Tech: 

Insider Inc. receives a commission when you buy through our links.

Read next

Devon Delfino is a Brooklyn-based freelance journalist specializing in personal finance, culture, politics, and identity. Her work has been featured in publications such as The Los Angeles Times, Teen Vogue, Business Insider, and CNBC. Follow her on Twitter at @devondelfino.