Tech Reference

How to cancel an Uber ride, whether you've just ordered it or scheduled it in advance

Uber
If you need to cancel an Uber ride, do it quickly, or you could be charged. Creative Lab / Shutterstock.com
Read in app

So, you no longer want a lift across town because your S.O. picked a different restaurant, you're mad at your friends, so you're skipping the party, or it's such a nice day, you think you'll walk instead.

No problem! Cancelling an Uber ride is quick and easy. Just be sure to be quick, because if you don't cancel within five minutes of a driver accepting your request, you'll be hit with a fee. (In some cities, you only have two minutes to cancel.)

If you cancel outside of that grace period, you'll be hit with a $5 fee for canceling a standard Uber, and you'll face a $10 fee for canceling an UberBlack. (You can always challenge the fee later, and Uber has a pretty good reputation for refunding these charges.)

Here's how to cancel immediate or scheduled Uber rides, on either iPhone or Android.

Check out the products mentioned in this article:

iPhone Xs (From $999.99 at Best Buy)

Google Pixel 3 (From $699.99 at Best Buy)

How to cancel an Uber you just booked

1. Assuming the app is still looking for a driver, tap the bar at the screen's bottom that reads "Finding your ride."

2. Tap "Cancel," then tap "YES, CANCEL" to confirm.

IMG_4954
Confirm that you want to cancel the ride.  Steven John/Business Insider

3. If you have already matched, tap the bar at the screen's bottom that shows your inbound driver's info, then hit "Cancel Trip."

4. Tap "YES, CANCEL" to confirm — if you were fast enough, you'll see a message that confirms that you won't be charged a fee.

How to cancel a scheduled Uber ride

1. Tap the three parallel bars at the top left of the app's home screen.

2. Tap "Your Trips" in the menu that pops out.

IMG_4938
Tap "Your Trips" to open a complete listing of your past and future Uber rides.  Steven John/Business Insider

3. Tap the oval that reads "Past" at the top right corner of the screen, then hit "Upcoming."

4. Tap "Cancel Ride," then confirm by tapping the box that reads "CANCEL RIDE."

For more information on scheduling or cancelling scheduled Uber rides, read our article, "How to schedule an Uber ride days or weeks in advance, or cancel a scheduled ride if you no longer need it."

Related coverage from How To Do Everything: Tech:

Insider Inc. receives a commission when you buy through our links.

Read next

Steven John has been a freelance writer for more than a dozen years and has been a regular contributor to Business Insider since 2017. His work includes a focus on the tech world, covering companies including Apple, Microsoft, Meta, Google, and others. He also reviews restaurants, shares how-to cooking articles, and writes general interest pieces.Steven also writes for publications including Architectural Digest, The Daily Beast, Forbes, and more. In the past, he also wrote for New York Magazine, Mashed, U.S. News & World Report and other outlets. He runs his own outdoor lifestyle site, Dad Gear Review, and co-hosts the Fact Trekkers podcast with his son. He has had two novels published, Three A.M. and Outrider. He graduated from Emerson College with a degree in communications focused on filmmaking.He is an avid outdoorsman and can be frequently found in a kayak or on a mountain trail, often with his family along for the adventure.Expertise:Tech industryTech hardwareOutdoorsCookingRestaurantsDIYPopular articles:Microsoft: A history of the software giant co-founded by Bill Gates, its products and services, jobs, layoffs, and moreYouTube is a major entertainment force. Here's the platform's history, plus how to create a channel and upload videos.Inside the life and career of Bill Gates, the Microsoft co-founder, billionaire, and philanthropistTim Cook net worth: How the Apple leader earns and spends his moneyBecoming an Amazon seller is a simple process. Here's what's involved, plus how you make money and get paid.