Tech Reference

How to block someone on LinkedIn or unblock them, using your computer or the mobile app

linkedin inmail
You can block someone on LinkedIn using your computer or mobile device. Getty Images
Read in app

LinkedIn can be a great place to connect with professional contacts, both known and unknown, and thereby expand your network. 

However, when you accept invitations from people you don't know or don't want to hear from, things can get uncomfortable — fast. That's when blocking becomes a good option.

On LinkedIn, blocking a person means that you will no longer be connected (if you are), and you won't be able to message each other, or view each other's profiles or updates. You can block up to 1,000 people on the platform.

In most cases, the other person won't get a notification about being blocked. The only exception is if you're currently sharing or have previously shared a LinkedIn Recruiter account with this person. So you probably don't have to worry about backlash or hurt feelings when you block someone on the site.

Here's how to block on LinkedIn, whether on desktop, or using the iPhone or Android mobile app.

Check out the products mentioned in this article:

iPhone Xs (From $999.99 at Best Buy)

Google Pixel 3 (From $799.99 at Best Buy)

How to block someone on LinkedIn

The process is the same whether you're using the desktop or mobile version of the site:

1. Go to the profile of the person you want to block.

2. Click (or tap) the "More…" button. This will be located to the right of their name on desktop, and below their name on mobile.

3. In the menu that appears, select "Report or Block."

1 HOW TO BLOCK SOMEONE LINKEDIN
Click "More..." and then "Report / Block."  Devon Delfino/Business Insider

4. Choose "Block [Name]."

3 HOW TO BLOCK SOMEONE LINKEDIN
Confirm that you want to block the selected person.  Devon Delfino/Business Insider

5. Select "Block" to confirm your choice.

You can also unblock a person if you change your mind. 

How to unblock someone on LinkedIn

Desktop

1. Click the "Me" icon in the top toolbar. 

2. Choose "Settings and Privacy." 

3. Under the Privacy tab, select "Blocking and Hiding" on the left sidebar. 

4. Next, click "Change," located next to "Blocking." 

5. Finally, click "Unblock" next to the name of the person you want to unblock.

Mobile

1. Navigate to your profile page.

2. Tap the gear icon in the top-right of the screen.

3. At the top of the Settings screen will be four tabs. Select "Privacy."

4. Scroll down until you find "Who you're blocking" and tap it.

IMG_3818
Your block list will be in the Privacy tab.  Devon Delfino/Business Insider

5. Tap "Unblock."

6. Confirm that you want to unblock this person by entering your password.

If for some reason you want to block this person again, keep in mind that you'll have to wait 48 hours after unblocking to reblock them.

Insider Inc. receives a commission when you buy through our links.

Read next

Devon Delfino is a Brooklyn-based freelance journalist specializing in personal finance, culture, politics, and identity. Her work has been featured in publications such as The Los Angeles Times, Teen Vogue, Business Insider, and CNBC. Follow her on Twitter at @devondelfino.